NaPoWriMo Day 10 ~ The Natural

This challenge was fun for me. The challenge for Day 10 was to do an unlove poem. My poem was inspired by my challenge with going natural and by one of my favorite poems, ‘The Raven’ by Edgar Allen Poe.

The Natural

You used to be welcome in my home.
We had a fond relationship
And I was lonely when you would roam

I used to embrace your presence
Visit you religiously
You were the epitome of my essence

Now I can’t tolerate the sight of you
So harsh and vicious.
Forgive us Father, We know not what we do

The way you burn me, scar me
The seething pain
As a child I remember the tears falling like rain

But I’m all grown now
No longer so vain
I’ve learned to live without you, Relaxer, some way, somehow

Natural beauty is all I want
Soft curls bouncing to the beat of the world
But from the shelf you still taunt

From way down the aisle
Calling my name as if I’m an addict
Reaking havoc
With your tainted smile, you beguile

But I will not be victim to you anymore,
Qouth The Natural, ‘Nevermore.’

Leave a Reply

