Don’t break down, break THROUGH

image

About a month ago, I told myself I was taking a vacation.  No matter what, I was taking time off and going somewhere, to do something with someone to force myself to take a break.  Every possible thing was weighing on me so heavily.  I was weary and completely done and over all of it.

Fast forward to last week, and my stay-cation was anything but fun and relaxing.  Every day presented a new issue or problem, and the whole point of the time off was to be released from stress, not to take on more.

Upon my return to work, it wasn’t long before the old and tattered stress robe was flung over my shoulders.  As I was speaking with another coworker, one of my team members stopped and asked me to come see her when I had a moment.  In the hollows of my mind, I immediately began to run the list of issues… did I enter data in the system wrong?  Did something happen while I was out?  

Why does our mind go straight to the negative before we even remotely hear the full story?

Turns out, my coworker blessed me with an amazing gift.  Anyone who knows me knows that I have a special place in my heart for pretty baubles and cute shoes!  Having this knowledge, my coworker saw these handmade Kenyan bracelets and thought of me.  She shared with me that she had been thinking of a way to thank me for helping her on prior occasions with her workload, and thought this would be the perfect gift.  

image

To say I was blown away was an understatement.  Here I am complaining about all the stuff that has been thrust on my plate for the last few weeks.  Her gift wiped all that stress away and humbled me in a way that I can barely describe in words.

It is so quick and easy to take the ‘road most traveled’ and be negative and grumpy about what life has decided to serve us.  BUT BUT BUT… that’s why the Word reminds us in Galatians that “in due season we will reap, if we do not give up.”

We can not fathom how our well doing may be abundantly blessing someone else’s life.  But by reading and meditating on this word, we can stay uplifted and focused.  

Isaiah 40:29 – 31 breaks down weariness.  It also reminds us that we can be victorious because ‘He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak’ (40:29).  You know you can make it because ‘Even youths grow tired and weary’ (40:30).   You know for sure you can because…

image

Doesn’t that sound beautifully peaceful and encouraging?  

Interestingly, this happened on Tuesday afternoon, and I thought of the verses above thatt night, which became the springboard for this post.  I open my email Wednesday morning, and see the daily devotional from Joel and Victoria Osteen, entitled ‘Wait on the Lord’.  This devotional also referenced Isaiah 40:31. Talk about confirmation!!  

I’ve included a link to the devotional so you can read it for yourself.  I am truly blessed by the Osteens, each and every day!  I am sure you will be as well. http://www.joelosteen.com/Pages/MessageViewer.aspx?date=2014-08-06

~As for these bracelets…

image

These are hand-crafted by Kenyan artisans and the proceeds go back to the artisans. Each bead is uniquely crafted from recycled glass, paper, clay and natural materials like ostrich eggshell and amber.  Their website is http://acacia-creations.com. Please go checkout their website and make a purchase. The proceeds provide income for Kenyan artisans, and I’m all about supporting each other, near and far.

Stay strong friends and be encouraged. You’ll be mounting your wings before you know it!

2 thoughts on “Don’t break down, break THROUGH”

  1. This is so true….I love getting away, even if it’s just overnight once and awhile on the weekends. But God has shown me also to be mindful of the little unexpected blessings in our lives that can do the same for us as the little get-a-ways. God is so good!

    Like

    1. It’s truly the little things that let us know God is taking care, despite how we may feel. It can be as simple as Him sending relief through a song, that’s exactly what happened to me this morning. It was simply a break in thought, but that’s exactly what I needed. Thanks for commenting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

